City and Borough of Juneau
155 S. Seward Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
tel. 907-586-5240
fax 907-586-5385
http://www.juneau.org

If you can read this, your browser is not style sheet compliant. If you are using an ADA browser, continue on for information and menu links.For more information regarding the City and Borough Juneau's new website design, click [here].

How Do I...

Appeal a Citation Get My Impounded Vehicle Abandoned Vehicle File an Online Police Report Apply for Employment Request A Police Report Compliments/Complaints Contact Us

JPD Menu

People of Interest

Felony Theft - ShopliftingEntire List

Juneau Police Department

Questions Posted to "Ask a Dispatcher"


Q. Driving a motorized vehicle while intoxicated is just plain stupid, I get that. But I've heard you can get a DUI while on a bike or any other transportation with wheels even if its not motorized. Why is this? Is the punishment exactly the same as a motorized vehicle?
I can see someone on a bike hitting someone that may be walking, but why would someone, that just got a DUI while driving a motorized vehicle still be able to ride a bike around if they are no longer able to drive a motorized vehicle?


Dear Juneau Resident,

It's not the wheels that count, it's the motor! You are not the first person to contact a JPD dispatcher with this question. Obviously more than one person has come to believe you can get a DUI without a motor...you can't. However, teeny, tiny motors do count, like those on a power scooter. The consequences for getting a DUI on a motorized scooter are the same as for someone operating a mini-van.

Here is the short version of the CBJ DUI ordinance:

CBJ 72.10.010 - Driving while Under the Influence

(a) A person commits the crime of driving while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage, inhalant, or controlled substance if the person operates or drives a motor vehicle or operates an aircraft or a watercraft.

Below is part of a document published by the Alaska Court System which outlines the minimum penalties for DUI. To see the complete list of penalties for DUI go to http://www.courts.alaska.gov/forms/pub-11.pdf



Overview of Mandatory Minimum Penalties

FIRST OFFENSE Misdemeanor Felony*

Minimum jail time 72 Consec. hours

Minimum fine $1,500

Ignition interlock device 12 Months

Cost of imprisonment** $330

License revocation 90 Days

SECOND OFFENSE

Minimum jail time 20 Days

Minimum fine $3,000

Ignition interlock device 24 Months

Cost of imprisonment** $1,467

License revocation 1 Year

THIRD OFFENSE

Minimum jail time 60 Days 120 Days

Minimum fine $4,000 $10,000

Ignition interlock device 36 Months Entire probation

Cost of imprisonment** $2,000 Not applicable

License revocation 3 Years For life

* Third or subsequent DUI or Refusal convictions may be misdemeanors or felonies,

depending on when the prior convictions took place.

** This amount is subject to change by regulation. Defendant must pay surcharges too.



Share

CBJ Image