Questions Posted to "Ask a Dispatcher"
Q. If two people are in a single car accident and both people are okay and the only damage was done to the car and the people can get the car from the scene safely and by themselves, are you still required to report it?
Dear Juneau Resident,
Do you mean that...you were backing out of your driveway and hit a large rock across the street and dented your bumper, do you have to report it? The answer is...it depends.
It depends on the amount of damage done to your car. Alaska law requires you to report any crash that results in injury to anyone or total property damage to the extent of $2,000. That report should be made to the police, however you have the option of reporting it yourself to the Alaska Department of Administration within 10 days of the crash.
So if you have an expensive bumper, you have to report it.